Beauty 101: Elle Woods Approved Pinks

Bend and Snap.

If this post doesn’t leave you reciting lines from Legally Blonde, I’ve failed as a blogger.

I’m well aware that dark vampy and 90’s lined lips are major for Fall but it’s nice to have a alternative option when everyone’s working with the same color palette.

Pink has always been my go to everyday shade when it comes to lips, nails and girlie accents. It was hard picking some of my favorites but I came up with a pretty solid arrangement…

IMG_0276

1. MAC Cremesheen in Creme Cup

I’m a matte girl and tend not to stray from it unless I come across a formula that mimics a matte. MAC’s Cremesheen formula is a nice example – the color is fairly intense and it shows up nicely on the lips. I don’t like their Satin or Lustre formulas but their Amplified is another alternative to matte as well. I picked this shade after browsing Instapics and loved how it worked as a pink-y nude. I was a little dismayed that it wasn’t as intense a pink as I thought it might be (intense in terms of packing a lot of color) but when I mix it with something brighter it’s the perfect shade to tone it down with. Try mixing it with Faux or Girl About Town (both by MAC). If you’re searching for a nude based pink – this one is it.

2. Essie nail color in Fiji

I am absolutely infatuated with this shade. It’s elegant and classy, wears well (an application lasts me 5-7 days) and is compliments a wide range of skin tones. The light pink is a nice break from nude but it’s still light enough to be considered as such. Love love love this for a feminine look. Oh, and because I’m rocking the claws these days – this shade is foolproof for a longer nail. Think more refined, less gaudy.

3. YSL Rouge Volupte in Opera Rose

I’ve already raved about this lipstick deliriously in past posts. The formula, the color, the staying power – all incredible and so worth the higher price point. I love the juicy look it gives and the color is ridiculously intense. Hands down one of my favorite pinks.

4. NARS Blush in Sex Machine

I was hesitant when I picked this shade but because it was a Nordstrom exclusive, my anxiety kicked in and I had to have it. I just couldn’t take the sleepless nights not purchasing would result in. So glad I picked it up. It’s the prettiest, softest light pink – and it shows up on my more olive skin tone too (my main concern was that it would be too light) but I was wrong. NARS blushes are known for the impactful colors and this one is not to be excluded. I like it for a nice flushed look. It’s probably not the shade you want if you’re looking for a blush for a Vegas fueled getup but as an everyday shade it’s perfect.

5. MAC Lip pencil in Embrace Me

I don’t usually wear lip liners but I figured I might as well put this one to use, as it was part of a set. Again, so glad I came across it. I usually wear it underneath something a little lighter and the ability of a lip liner to transform your lipsticks is fascinating. I love it under nudes and lighter pinks, it’s definitely a good shade to have if you mostly wear lighter colors. The 90’s chola lip is back, and this might not be the shade to use for trying it out but as a careful transition – it’s perf.

Now all you need are some complimentary separates, a chihuahua, and a platinum do.

xo

 

One thought on “Beauty 101: Elle Woods Approved Pinks

  1. 1. Love them all. Pink, pink, pink.

    2. If you don’t have the Nars Sex Machine lip pencil, you need to get on that asap.

    3. If you’re on Twittah, you should DEFINITELY be following @CorporetteLaw. I would be completely happy only following her on Twitter. Hilarious.

    4. If you are on Twitter, why are you not following @prettytrippyg?!?! And why is she not following you?

    5. That is all. Thank you for not doing a “Kylie Jenner How to get a 90’s lip” post. Muchas gracias.

Leave a Reply

