Beauty 101: August’s Must Haves

I know it’s already halfway through August but you still have more than enough time to indulge in summer beauty. Fret not. Here’s a nice little lineup…

St. Tropez Self Tan Express/$54/sephora.com

St-Tropez-Self-Tan-Express

I’m pretty light for a darker skinned girl so I love a little assistance – especially if it’s quick, mess free, and easy. This new launch works within an hour or so and gives a nice even tan. Definitely something to give you a little glow and help you ease into Fall..

MAC Prep & Prime Moisture Fusion/$40/maccosmetics.com

fcbbad8819584d88dc5d8f3c5eb59ce0

I actually need to go out and get some of this. The weather is still hot and muggy and as a result it’s a real asshole to your perfectly made up face. You can get a couple different versions depending on what your skin type is but all will allow for a longer lasting base, smooth application and hydration.

Clinique Chubby Stick Lip Color Balm/$17/neimanmarcus.com

Clinique-Chubby-Stick-Lip-Colour-Balm

This stuff is perfect for those that don’t want to rock a heavy lipstick during the summer. It’s smooth, low key and wearable all day but still gives a nice little pop of color.

MAC Novel Romance Eyeshadow Collection/$21/maccosmetics.com

MAC-Novel-Romance-Collection-Eye-Shadow

Uh yes I cannot wait until the 21st. This new launch shadow is appropriately named Superwatt Electric Cool Eye Shadow. It’s a cream/powder combo but feels like a regular powder shadow. Love that because I want an easy application without getting too handsy. The finish is smooth and fairly light, but you can guarantee that it’ll stay all day long – huge plus, especially in warmer weather.

Stila Eyes Are The Window Eye Shadow Palette/$49/ulta.com

Stila-Eyes-Window-Eye-Shadow-Palette

Hello new packaging. Aren’t you fancy. No more cardboard  – Stila has introduced a new collection with just a very appropriate amount of pretention. The gold case is so chic. And the shades in it are perfect for a Summer to Fall transition. Cool and dark shades with a hint of shimmer. I can think of tons of smokey eye looks already…

Eos Coconut Milk Lip Balm/$3/All drugstores/ulta.com

Eos-Coconut-Milk-Lip-Balm

Coconut oil is a God send for many a parched lip, dry skin, and your mouth (as of late). What better way than to combine it with a tried and true miracle balm? Forget Summer, I’m using this well into the Winter.

Chantecaille Le Stylo Ultra Slim Liner/$34/neimanmarcus.com

Chantecaille-Le-Stylo-Ultra-Slim-Eyeliner

Okay. I’m not going to be a jerk here. I am a sucker for a designer brand, BUT I will mention that I am a sucker as long as it offers superior characteristics to a drugstore product. I haven’t used this so I have yet to find out but the packaging is so sleek, the tip boasts smooth and flawless application and it’s water and element resistant. It better be for 35 bucks. My go to liquid liner is Stila’s world famous wand but I feel as if I’m being glamoured…and it’s working.

Becca Lowlight Sculpting Perfector/$38/sephora.com

p387827-av-02-Lhero

Oh yeah, highlighters are like shoes for me. I must have them all. All shapes, all sizes, all shades, all. This stuff is great for contouring (PS – I did a post on contouring like a Kardashian a while back and this would do wonders for your darker base) Hollows of the cheeks, down your nose, and underneath your jaw.

Lancome Grandoise Mascara/$32/nordstrom.com

Lancome-Grandiose-Mascara

Ooooh look whose trying to get a leg up on Louboutin’s super sized, super glam polishes…available now, this new launch mascara claims it’ll give you an intense winged out look without tiring out your biceps by wiggling. I’d like to try it just to see how it is on the inner lashes and the lower ones. The wand is nuts.

Illamasqua Matte Veil/$48/bloomingdales.com

Illamasqua-Matte-Veil

A little steep in price, but this brand is luxe and you’re getting a high quality product. Thought I’d start off with that so I don’t get stoned to death. This is perfect for those with a little too much shine on their skin. It’s also nice for matte=fying your foundation, which I’m a fan of.

MAC Jumbo Penultimate/$22/maccosmetics.com

MAC-x-Kelly-Osbourne-Jumbo-Penultimate

Hey. How did I not know this existed until now?! If you have a hard time with liquid liners or sharper pencils for fine lines, this pen is your Holy Grail. One swipe is all it takes. No muss no fuss. Oh God, I can’t believe I just used that phrase.

As always, let me know if you make a purchase, I care. Really. I want to know.

xo

2 thoughts on “Beauty 101: August’s Must Haves

Leave a Reply

