The Skinny: Cinnamon Carrot Bread Muffins

There are sometimes days when even I surprise myself. None of these days include times when I exhibit aggressive driving/road rage, buy shoes, and spend 3 hours immobile in front of the TV. These days of amazement usually occur when I find myself wanting to bake/cook, not feeling like shopping and doing actually attending social events. Today was one of them.

I baked. Not one thing, I baked two completely different kinds of goods. I need to take a minute to fully grasp what happened this evening. While I do that you can look for yourselves. Safe to say I was either drunk or highly medicated. There’s few other explanations.

Oh, and the “bread” in the title is misleading – they’re gluten free. Whaaaaaat.

What I Used:

1 cup raisins

1/2 cup ground Flax

1/2 cup oats

1 cup rice flour

1/4 cup oil

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder

1 small container of apple sauce

3 tbsp grapeseed oil

3/4 cup low fat greek yogurt

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup finely shredded carrot

1/4 cup walnuts

*I substituted grapeseed oil, rice flour, oats, flax and applesauce for the all purpose flour, egg and cooking oil so that the recipe would be healthier and lower in fat, carbs, and calories than the original recipe. (No gluten/egg). Hop on the wagon, it’s a smooth acid free ride with no need for bathroom stops. Not lying.

IMG_0438

IMG_0437

IMG_0439

How I did it:

Mix together the dry ingredients and put aside. Mix together the wet. I soaked the raisins and slowly added in the dry stuff. Kitchen Aid b*tches. Tis a way of life. Then I filled up the cups and put it in oven at 375 for about 45 minutes.

I doubled up the recipe because I like having these fit little muffins for breakfast and they’re perfect for someone like me who would rather spend time perfecting my makeup and hair than preparing breakfast and lunch. Hey at least I can admit it right?

IMG_0427

Look at how productive rainy evenings can be.

Appalled? Me too.

One thought on “The Skinny: Cinnamon Carrot Bread Muffins

Leave a Reply

