Style: Isabel Marant for H&M

Hot steppin on the heels of Philim Lim for Target comes Isabel Marant for H&M. Pretty exciting because I really like her effortbless yet trendy looks. The iconic sneakers (that have been mimic’ed everywhere) along with her urban and contemporary style are fashionista favs and now it looks like they’ll be more affordable alternatives…

hm-isabel-marant-01

The collection will be available on November 14th and hopefully hordes of shoppers will leave something behind unlike the buffonery at Target. I wasn’t too interested in the Philip Lim for Target collection that drew crazy masses of deal hunters and hype huggers both at the stores and online. Only because I don’t like wearing what everyone else is wearing (I’m not being pretentious here, I’d just rather not have the same thing as everyone else, individuality is a good thing). Oh and I like exclusivity, when I can afford it that is. I mean, the mini satchels were great but nothing compares to the original Pashli. I’m hoping there’s some more pieces added to that collection that can be built upon with personal style rather than featured pieces everyone’s going to want to get their hands on. Aritzia take note. Get rid of that God awful cocoon cardi you “re-introduce” every. single. season.

Anyway back to Marant – I’m interested to see what she comes up with especially for a store like H&M which has some good pieces here and there but when it comes down to it – best for a weekend of wear at the most. Hopefully they’re a little more long lasting and incorporate nicer materials.

Here are some outfits from the lookbook:

1

2

3

5

7

I’m a huge fan of the carelessly chic look and these pieces are making me pant a bit. I know it’s due to a lot of styling and tweaking but I trust my personal style enough to re-create some of these looks and make them my own.

Here’s what Isabel has to say about the new compilation…

“I am flattered by this collaboration. H&M works with the best designers, and this invitation is an exciting honor. I aim at creating something real – something women want to wear in their everyday lives – with a certain carefree style. I think this is very Parisian: You dress up, but don’t pay too much attention to it, and you still look sexy. The collection is infused with this kind of easiness and attitude. Everything can be combined following one’s own instincts, and my take on fashion is all about personality,”

Expect a lot of urban chic, comfy fits and oversized pieces with embellishments and a bit of rock n roll.

I leave you with a piece of advice when shopping at launches – ratchet isn’t working for Miley Cyrus and it won’t be working for you. Act like the civilized, respectful human beings you are. That sh*t looks good on everyone.

4 thoughts on “Style: Isabel Marant for H&M

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you for calling out the cocoon cardi @ Aritzia (and not too subtley, every girl that still thinks it’s cool). It’s the cardigan equivalent of Champion tearaways circa 1997.

Leave a Reply

