Was It Worth It: Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

Image

So I really appreciate when I stumble upon product reviews…sometimes I need more than the review/comment section on the brand site because they can be misleading, self promoting, or at worst – filled with people talking sh*t.

When you come across a detailed review done by actual users and abusers it can really make or break whether or not you choose to pull the trigger on something yourself.

THEREFORE, without further ado, I give to you my thoughts on Too Faced’s “Better Than Sex” mascara.

Image

I usually go into Sephora with a game plan and someone chirping on my shoulder for me to hurry it up – this is because I’m easily distracted by shiny objects, and Sephora for me is like Tiffany’s to Holly Golightly.

Anyway, as a prime target for makeup artists and Nordstrom sales staff, I have to be in and out within 15 minutes max in order to prevent spontaneous combustion as a result of sheer joy. This is with a mental shopping list in mind. So I went in to replace my Benefit “They’re Real” mascara and came out with this stuff instead.

I’m a big fan of Too Faced’s makeup line to begin with – I like the pretty colors, the packaging I believe is put together and boxed by faeries, and the different eye, face and lip palettes are endless.

Image

What blew my mind at first glance was the fact that the brush is insanely similar to Fairy Drops mascara (which Sephora discontinued much to my dismay – and incessant begging). The hourglass brush is perfect for volumizing and creating a doll-like finish.

Image

I know a lot of reviews out there have said it’s clumpy and wet but I find that if I prime my lashes with something else beforehand (which is part of my everyday routine) it sticks and separates way better.

The mascara has stiff bristles (which I prefer compared to plastic wands). It’s infused with collagen for a Real Housewife extra kick, and I find that if you apply it and then wait about 5 minutes and apply another coat (and another at the tips for a really dramatic look) it’s AH-MAZING.

I’m not kidding. I get called “camel lashes” at work and that should be review enough.

Final Verdict: Typical price for a fancy schmancy mascara $23-25, pretty packaging (which I’m a sucker for) and it gives you full and dramatic lashes. I already have long lashes but I’m always looking for something that makes them curl and lift upward – this did the trick.

Image

What do you girls think?

(Available at Sephora and online at Too Faced) Click the link to the right to purch.

Leave a Reply

