Beauty 101: How To Clean Your Makeup Brushes

0912-clean-makeup-brushes (1)

Okay I know, I know, Sunday Funday and all, but I chose to use this Sunday to lounge around and do some end-of-week tasks that I shove to, well, the end of the week. Cleaning my makeup brushes is one of them. Although you should be cleaning your brushes every few days, especially if you use them on a daily basis, I usually pick one or two that I use the most and just clean those. Everyone’s gettin dipped today. Anyway, here’s my step by step process on how to get your brushes clean and prolong their little bristly lives…not to mention it’ll cut down on shelling out for treatments for clogged pores and those annoying breakouts…

  1. Begin by running your brushes under lukewarm water, rinsing out all of the residual makeup. Try to focus on the actual bristles while avoiding the part of the brush where handle meets the head, as this can loosen the glue over time
  2. Fill a bowl with lukewarm water and a squirt of shampoo, and gently swirl your brush tip in the water. If you need to, you can also swirl the brush in the palm of your hand to work up a lather.
  3. Rinse the brush tip under running water once again. Repeat steps two and three until the water runs clear from the brush,
  4. Use a cloth to wipe your brush clean, reshaping the bristles as you go.
  5. Lay your brushes flat on a cloth to dry.

*Baby shampoo and clarifying shampoo work wonders on makeup brushes. I use Philosophy Baby Grace on mine. It’s a shower gel/shampoo combination so my brushes come out smelling lightly scented as well.

5 easy as heck steps is all it takes to save your face and prolong your brushes. If I’m on the right track you’ve probably shelled out from $15-30 on a brush and trust me, in order to keep those teddy bear bristles soft and smooth you need to make sure you clean em. Okay, you may now go ahead and smother them with shadow again.

Image

Leave a Reply

